top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureM'Kala

Rainbow Mountain


Qechuan boy from our trip on Saturday

I have been pretty sick this past week, but thankfully I'm feeling mostly better. Being sick in a foreign country is a little bit frustrating because the people here view being sick differently. Here they don't believe in germs...well at least my host family doesn't. My host dad was sick with the same thing that I am just getting over (essentially just a really bad cold). But when i got sick they said it was because I wore sandals on a day that it started to rain.


I got really excited because I found a safe place to run in the mornings and I decided to go running. Well, the next day I happened to get sick and so my host family, especially my host mom, will need some convincing before they let me go running again. I spent 50 soles on 4 pills that ended up just being for allergies. I was a little bitter about that especially because I already have loads of allergy medicine. But I'm feeling better now so it doesn't matter much.


Last Friday, Natalie and I decided to o to a restaurant that we had heard was really good. Supposedly all the famous people go there when they visit Cusco.

I got a bean and cheese quesadilla with a salad and guacamole. It was so good!

The next day, me and the 3 other students from SUU, (Natalie, Cara, and Alex) went on our first real touristy adventure. We stopped at a little town and took a picture in front of the Incan bridge. We then continued on to Palcoyo Mountain, which is very similar to the famous "Rainbow Mountain" but this one is lesser known, and therefore there are less people there. It was an awesome experience, but it was so cold, and the elevation was a lot higher so it was difficult to walk without getting lightheaded (being super sick probably didn't help) While we were up there we got hailed on HARD! It hurt pretty bad, but it just added to the experience in the long run.







I hope you enjoyed all the pictures from this week!

21 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page